The discovery profile at each storefront's /.well-known/ucp now declares version 2026-08-25 of the Universal Commerce Protocol as supported. No changes to existing implementations are needed.
/.well-known/ucp to publish which UCP versions they support.Discovery profiles now declare 2026-08-25 as a supported protocol version.
The set of capabilities Shopify supports is unchanged. Only the declared version and its compatibility were updated.
The changelog states explicitly that no changes to existing integrations are needed. No storefront settings need to change either.
/.well-known/ucp , and the other side reads it to align on supported versions and features.| Item | This change | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Declared protocol version | Changed Declares 2026-08-25 as a supported version | /.well-known/ucp discovery profile |
| Compatibility with 2026-08-25 | Added Compatibility with that release was added | Can now negotiate with parties holding a compatible profile |
| Supported capabilities | Unchanged | Explicitly stated as "the set is unchanged" — not a feature addition |
| Storefront settings | Unchanged | No configuration changes needed |
| Existing UCP integrations | Unchanged | Explicitly stated as requiring no changes |
/.well-known/ucp — storefronts that expose one are affected. Their profile contents are updated automatically.
If you already negotiate using the discovery profile, you can treat Shopify storefronts as 2026-08-25 compatible.
No changes are needed to your storefront settings or to existing UCP integrations.
You can negotiate capabilities with the Shopify storefront on that version.
See the UCP documentation for the profile format and the negotiation flow.
Nothing is filled in by guesswork; anything absent from the original is explicitly marked "not stated".
There is no mention of how long existing versions will be supported or when they will be deprecated.
The announcement does not spell out what specifically changed in protocol release 2026-08-25.
There is no description of which plans or stores it already applies to, or of the rollout timing.
Field names and schema examples are not included in the text; you are expected to consult the UCP documentation.
It only says "the set is unchanged" — the contents are never enumerated.
There is no mention of authentication requirements, limits, or costs associated with discovery and negotiation.
/.well-known/ucp — that single pathThis path is where the storefront publishes its information. When you want to inspect how an integration partner behaves, the fastest route is to look at what is declared here first.
The only thing that moved this time is the declaration of supported versions; capabilities are unchanged. Don't treat a version difference as a feature difference — design your checks so the two are verified separately.
Shopify only declares that it supports the version. Whether the conversation actually happens on 2026-08-25 depends on whether the platform / agent can handle that profile.
The profile declares a set of supported versions. An implementation that parses for a single hardcoded version will break every time a version is added.* When older versions will be retired is not stated.
No changes to existing integrations are required, and capabilities stay the same. In other words, this is the kind of change that does not require a dedicated sprint to adopt. In change management, you can file it under "no action required, share for awareness." That said, you do need a separate check on whether your own agent implements the 2026-08-25 profile.
/.well-known/ucp of the storefronts you integrate with, and set up an alert that fires when the set of declared versions changes./.well-known/ucp — that is the only endpoint./.well-known/ucp now declares support for UCP 2026-08-25.